R. Shankar Raman

R. Shankar Raman

Whole-time Director & Chief Financial Officer

Mr. R. Shankar Raman is a qualified Chartered Accountant and a Graduate of the Institute of Cost & Works Accountants of India. Over the past 32 years, Mr. Shankar Raman has worked for leading listed corporates in varied capacities in the field of finance.

Mr. Shankar Raman joined L&T Group in November 1994 to set up L&T Finance Limited, a wholly owned Subsidiary. As its first CEO, Mr. Shankar Raman successfully built the financial services business from its inception.

In the year 2000, Mr. Shankar Raman shifted to Larsen & Toubro Limited, the parent company, to oversee its finance function. Over the years, Mr. Shankar Raman’s responsibilities expanded to include Risk Management, Investor Relations, Legal and Corporate Brand Management & Communications. During these years, Mr. Shankar Raman led the Company’s initiative to structure some award winning Foreign Currency Convertible Bonds and GDRs while strengthening the capital base of the Company. Mr. Shankar Raman was also instrumental in establishing an enterprise-wide risk management framework for the Company. His contribution includes up-gradation of the Company’s processes for Investor Relations which enabled the Company to gain repeated recognition for Best IR practices at Asian level.

Mr. Shankar Raman was appointed as Chief Financial Officer of Larsen & Toubro Limited in September 2011 and subsequently elevated to the Board on October 1, 2011. He presently oversees the finance functions across the L&T Group. Mr. Shankar Raman is also on the Board of Management of several companies within the L&T Group.

In 2012, and again in 2014, Mr. Shankar Raman was ranked the Best CFO in Asia in the Industrial Sector in a survey conducted by the prestigious New York-based, Institutional Investor magazine. In the year 2013, Mr. Shankar Raman won CNBC TV18’s coveted ‘Best CFO Award’ and Business
Today’s Best CFO Award for Consistent Liquidity Management under Large Companies category.

Board of Directors

  • A. M. Naik

    Group Chairman

  • S. N. Subrahmanyan

    Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director

  • Shailendra Roy

    Whole-Time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Power, Heavy Engg. & Nuclear)

  • D. K. Sen

    Whole-Time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Infrastructure)

  • M. V. Satish

    Whole-Time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Buildings, Minerals & Metals)

  • J. D. Patil

    Whole-Time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Defence Business)

You are using an outdated browser. Please Update your browser to improve your experience.