Shailendra Roy

Shailendra Roy

Whole-time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Power)

Mr. Shailendra Roy is a Whole‐time Director and is responsible for business operations of Larsen & Toubro in the Power (coal, nuclear and gas‐based) sector. He also looks after Corporate Affairs. 

Mr. Roy is also the Chairman of L&T's joint venture companies with Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems of Japan for manufacturing of supercritical / ultra‐supercritical boilers and turbines & generators, and L&T Special Steels and Heavy Forgings which is a joint venture of L&T and Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited. L&T's other joint venture companies with Howden (UK) and Sargent & Lundy (USA), too draw their strength from his leadership. Mr. Roy also provides leadership insights into Power plant auxiliaries businesses including Flue Gas Desulphurisation systems, Electrostatic Precipitators and Heat Recovery Steam Generators. He was a driving force behind positioning L&T in the Defence sector and has given renewed thrust to indigenisation in these critical sectors in sync with the ‘Make in India’ initiative of Government of India.

Mr. Roy has a B. Tech degree, and is a graduate of the Wharton Advanced Management Program. He joined L&T in 2004 and was tasked with initiating a major foray into road projects for National Highways Authority of India. He was associated with business development of power projects (thermal & hydro), substations, transmission lines, railway electrification, highways and transportation. Before joining L&T, Mr. Roy was Managing Director & CEO of Bharat Heavy Plates & Vessels Ltd., a Government of India undertaking.

Starting his career in 1975 as an engineer with the manufacturing complex of BHEL (Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited) at Haridwar, Mr. Roy spent 22 years in BHEL and handled an overseas assignment in Libya during his early days in the public sector company.

  • A. M. Naik

    Group Chairman

  • S. N. Subrahmanyan

    Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director

  • R. Shankar Raman

    Whole-time Director & Chief Financial Officer

  • D. K. Sen

    Whole-time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Infrastructure)

  • M. V. Satish

    Whole-time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Buildings, Minerals & Metals)

  • J. D. Patil

    Whole-time Director & Sr. Executive Vice President (Defence & Smart Technologies)

  • Company Logo

You are using an outdated browser. Please Update your browser to improve your experience.